12 replies to this topic

#1 ILoveAmyWinehouse

ILoveAmyWinehouse

You Know I'm No Good

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 07:11 PM

This is my first time hearing this. I love hearing demos, especially Amy's. What do you all think?

Honestly, I think Tony Bennett was great. But as I read here in other posts, I can defineley hear how damaged Amy's voice is hearing this demo of "body and soul". Her other demos are great, but this one I can tell her it was hard for her to breath her voice is strained. Poor Amy. Makes me a little sad to know how overly produced "body and soul" really was. I thought her voice was turning into Billie Holliday but after hearing this, I guess not.

On the upside, even with a strained voice Amy still sounds 1,000% better than basically every artist out today.

#2 mikeymikerson

mikeymikerson

Noob

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 03:45 PM

I almost like her vocals better here than what showed up on the official release.

#3 amylove

amylove

<3

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,480 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 04:50 PM

I think she was out of practice and her confidence was shot. I like the beginning. It sounds like they put parts from different takes together.

#4 SarahMermaid

SarahMermaid

I said, "No, No, No"

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 368 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 27 January 2013 - 11:54 PM

if you've watched the zen of bennett you'll see how amy is a shadow of her self. no confidence, the spark is gone. there was no rehearsal or vocal warm up either, which might've helped. But as we've discussed in other threads her voice was damaged still. Even her talking voice sounds different in the interview.

I almost prefer this version, too. :)

#5 ILoveAmyWinehouse

ILoveAmyWinehouse

You Know I'm No Good

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:59 AM