• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Wino

Wino

Shuffle A Dream

• Founders
  • 4,341 posts

Posted 04 July 2008 - 01:19 PM

OK so I turned the forum offline in the hope that we'd be able to convert either today or tomorrow BUT the Invision Power Board (IPB) team are not working over the weekend due to it being a holiday weekend. So I didn't want to deprive you of the forum until Monday so thought I should probably turn it back online.
Basically it's looking like we will be moving the forum from MyBB software to IPB software. I'm still waiting to find out if the version of MyBB we're running can be converted but so far it's looking very likely. If, however, that falls through then we will change to vBulletin. The only problem with this is that I have NO experience using vBulletin software so would then have to spend some time getting to know the ins-and-outs of it, whereas I know how IPB works because I've hosted forums on it before.
Anyway.... the forum is back, until Monday atleast.
Any questions please just ask.

ps - when we have converted I'll be looking for 'staff' as the 'new' forum will be MUCH better and will require a bigger team. :)

#2 pearljo

pearljo

♪♫♫ vaginal bleeding

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,242 posts

Posted 04 July 2008 - 01:55 PM

If we go to vBulletin, do you know how long the site would be down and how much money we're talking?

#3 Wino

Wino

Shuffle A Dream

• Founders
  • 4,341 posts

Posted 04 July 2008 - 02:07 PM

If we go to IPB (which is the one I'd prefer) then we'll be purchasing the IPS Community Suite, which includes the forum, gallery, blog and support. This costs $249.00. I'll be paying in £ though and don't know how much that converts into.